free html website templates

Saturday, 20 June 2020

Election of the President of the Bar Association of Sri Lanka 2021 


It has been indicated that Mr. Saliya Peiris P. C. & Mr. Kuvera De Zoyza P. C. will contest for the post of President of the Bar Association of Sri Lanka for 2021/22. 

The winner of the election will succeed Mr. Kalinga Indatissa P. C., the incumbent President of Bar Association of Sri Lanka. The date of the election is yet to be announced.

The Election Procedure according to the Constitution of the Bar Association of Sri Lanka is as follows.

1. Voting shall be by secret ballot. 

2. Every Branch Association shall be an election centre, for the purpose of this election and only 
members of the respective Branch Association may vote at the said centre. 

3. No member shall cast more than one vote for the election to each office.

4. The District Judge of the relevant Judicial District or in his absence any Additional District Judge or any 
Magistrate of such Judicial District or any person acting in such office at such time or if such Judicial Officers who are absent or unable to function for whatever reason any Attorney-at-Law appointed by the Returning Officer shall be responsible for the conduct of the election at their respective election centres and for the counting of the ballots cast at the said election. They shall be referred to hereafter as Presiding Officers. (Amended on 25.02.2017) 

5. Polling on the Election Day shall be from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 

6. Each candidate shall be entitled to have an agent authorized by him in writing at each election centre 
during polling hours and such agent may take objection to any person seeking to cast a vote and such 
objection shall be recorded and determined by the Presiding Officer.

7. No ballot paper should be handed over to a voter after the polling has closed. 

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Home | About | Sitemap
© The Hulftsdorp Bulletin 2020
All Rights Reserved